Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf – Finished! – and My Apologies

My dear readers,

I am so sorry for my utter radio silence. Things have been manic at work and in life. Work has been so busy; late nights, traveling, intense deals and lots of stress. Add onto this a career crises. Yes I have decided I can no longer do this job. It is not me; I wake up miserable most mornings and struggle to make it through the day. It has had an overall negative impact on my personality and I don’t like the person the job makes me. So I am on the hunt to find something that will suit my skills, interests, values and personality. The pressure is on.

So at the end of these busy days, the home life has also lagged. I have been able to keep things in order but the cooking has slipped significantly and I hate that! Oh and there really has been no time for knitting, quilting or crafting. Therefore I have not had much to write about…

But I did manage to finish my Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf. Thank goodness. I thought I would share some pretty pictures of the final product with you. After months of knitting and some fun blocking it (with The Hubby’s help) it is done. Lucky, because Melbourne is cold!

I hope I will be back to my usual self and posts soon, but for now I hope you can at least enjoy some pictures…

Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf – finished at around 160cm long

Quite a chic looking scarf I think…

I really love the diagonal knot stitch

32 thoughts on “Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf – Finished! – and My Apologies

  1. Wow! It’s really beautiful! I can sure empathize with your job woes…I’ve been on the hunt for about 6 months. Knitting and my blog have kept me sane and I know they’ll help you too! Love and hugs! Cheryl

  2. I can totally relate, I have been in a slump too! Hope to get a post up tonight. Good decision to change jobs. There is nothing worse then dreading going to work every day. Hope things get better soon. I live in a warm climate, so I don’t knit, but I love your scarf.

    • Thanks for commenting. No, getting up miserable everyday is horrible and takes such a toll on my whole life. Glad you like the scarf – oh you can still knit! Just make household accessories rather than woolen clothing :)

  3. Beautiful stitch and scarf! Best of luck with finding a better position. Life is too short to be miserable at someplace where we have to spend so much time!

  4. Good on you..not many people have the courage or insight to realise that what they are doing isn’t them or isn’t giving them fulfilment in life. Good luck with your job search, I’m sure the universe will bring something your way.

  5. Great looking scarf! It is so pretty, you did a great job :)

    I too can sympathize with the job hunt- both hubby and I are going through it right now and I want to pull my hair out! Best of luck to you- happiness is so important!

  6. I can’t say if this is a good thing, but your first paragraph really spoke to me. I am experiencing the same frustrations at my job. But then match this with my stubbornness to hold on to my job that I have worked so hard for- its a rough situation. And I have a hard time looking for a new job when I don’t even know what to type into the job search blank box! All I can say is, keep researching, talking, learning and the right opportunity will present itself. At least- that’s what I keep telling myself!

    ps the scarf is lovely. I always forget Australia has swapped seasons ;)

    • The sentiments seem to resonate with a lot of people. Funny I am in the same position as you. I left uni with the ultimate job in banking. Everyone wanted it. It is hard to adit you do not like such a great position but I am trully unhappy with the work. And now, what to do? I have a few ideas but they are a little left of field and I am scared to exit my industry too abruptly. If only there was a system which could tell you your dream job. I will follow your advice, I just keep reading about things and seeking inspiration. I am 80% close to being sure about my next move, but still working through the mind games. I hope you figure out want is your calling in life too! From your blog, I sense something about style is your forte!

  7. The scarf is absolutely lovely!

    Good luck with the career changes, but it sounds like it’s the right decision for you. Life is too short to spend most of your waking hours in a job that makes you unhappy. I wish you all the best as you look for something that suits you better!!

  8. The scarf is beautiful! I love the texture of it and just in time for the cold, too! Someone once told me that it takes a person something like an average of 7 job changes to finally get to the job they love. I hope it’s not that many for you, but know that you are most certainly not alone in your struggles. In the meantime, try to do something you love to do for at least a little while each day…it might help you with your frustrations:)

    • Thanks so much. Hopefully it won’t take 7 jobs but I think it is important to try out something different when you know that the work you are doing is just not right! Career planning is all consuming at the moment but I will be picking up a needle (of any sort) soon…

  9. Firstly, your scarf is fantastic. I love the texture of the stitches.
    On the job front, it took me four years to leave mine. Some aspects I loved so I couldn’t bear to leave, partly not wanting to let others down. But those Sunday night blues, ugh! I have to say, I haven’t looked back. Good luck with whatever path you choose :-) Avis x

    • Thanks so much. The scarf has been well recieved. Yes, the Sunday night blues are very strong at the moment. They seem to get really bad some weeks and are just a sign that my time has come to move on… Thanks for the comforting words…

  10. What a beautiful scarf! I’m so sorry to hear about your job woes ~ it’s tough to find the right job at times, but you will and best wishes for your hunting :)

  11. For some reason I totally missed this post. I had been thinking that you had been very quiet of late and now I can understand why!! I feel so sorry for you with your work/life dilemma – I am very much in the same place and after 6 months of dithering I handed in my notice at work and am still trying to find what to do next!! There is absolutely no point in staying in a job that makes you miserable and I hope that you manage to find some kind of solution. Keep us all posted though with how you are getting on and we might be able to offer some advice. Keep positive!! Nic xxx

    • Well done on handing in your resignation. That takes courage! I hope you find something that appeals to you soon. Being in a miserable job makes life very hard.
      I will keep you posted and thanks for still following, even though I have been somewhat absent…

  12. Gorgeous scarf and perfect for the icy Victorian winds that have just arrived. I can relate to how you feel about your job – I’ve been thinking similar things of late; the stress is making me a different person and affecting my home life. Hope you’re braver than me and find a more fulfilling job!

  13. What a super beautiful scarf! Love the color. And if there is one thing I’ve learned over the years, it’s that when you dread work it’s time to pack it up and move along. You’ll find something worth your while! And if you don’t find it, make it! Best of luck!

  14. Beautiful finish. I really love that scarf!

    Prayers to you as you try to figure out a new career path. I totally understand this. My husband two years ago had a similar happening. His and our choice was for him to go back to school. I sorta pushed him towards the law enforcement field because I just knew that was a perfect match for him. Low and behold, he agreed and now we are in the stage of school being finished and he will hopefully be starting at Police Academy with Maryland State Police sometime in the fall. It’s been a long road and we still aren’t there, but we are living proof that you don’t need to stay in a job that is bringing you down. Get out there, search. Live. You’ll find it, it will be perfect. Don’t settle.

    Blessings, Sara

Please leave your comments...

