The Great Scarf Endeavour – The Knitter Returns

I have found my next knitting project. The one to get me back into the loop (excuse my corny joke – yes that passes for humour in my world, sadly not The Hubby’s).

Inspired by a dreary Melbourne morning (it’s summer but for some reason we have had thick dark clouds every morning that make you feel like it’s 5.00pm – not a great start when it’s only 8.00am) I decided to make a scarf. I am not sure how long it would take me and I want to prepare for autumn as I really do feel the cold.

A simple scarf would be a perfect project to familiarise myself, again, with basic knitting technique as the project requires no complex design elements or fussing about with creating a shape. All I needed to do was cast on and then work a pattern all the way until I had my desired length.

I was inspired. I began trawling the internet for some free patterns for an easy scarf. I wanted it to be simple, but also not look like a primary school project. I needed something with a bit of an interesting pattern.

I was amazed how many fantastic sites I found which offered free patterns which were actually quite sophisticated. So many of the patterns had a detailed braid – these look stunning but a little out of my comfort zone for now.

I settled on two really great scarves and I thank the designers for putting up their creations on the web.

A Simple Ribbed Pattern – adapted from I Live on a Farm

An Interesting Knot Pattern – adapted from Cotton & Cloud

The ribbed scarf is nice and simple and really the perfect “back into it” project. But the scarf with the interesting knot pattern looks great also.

I decided on the making the Knot Patterned Scarf first because I am really excited to try out the design as it is very interesting.

Being somewhat green I wanted to read the pattern in detail and make sure I could follow it. I have never knitted a knot before and thought it would be quite complex.

Luckily, Kyoko from Cotton & Cloud has gone to an amazing effort to create tutorials for this project which includes a video instructional guide for the knot (as well as so many other interesting knitting tips and tricks).

She has a pattern PDF link from her webpage which can be found here (excerpt below) and tells you everything you need. Also if you want to watch her instruction videos (these make the  knot really clear) on You Tube you can follow this link.

I went for a stroll to Lincraft in the city after work to buy my supplies. First thing I picked up was the needles (as that required no thought). Then I eagerly hunted around for the wool, looking through all the different textures and colours. To be honest I was a bit lost. The pattern didn’t specify the ply or texture so I was really stuck on what was required to make the scarf (as it needs a bit of chunkiness). I settled on some very soft 8ply wool (as that seemed to be the standard and matched the needle’s requirements). There were two really nice colours, a dark grey and a soft grey. I bought 8 balls of each (assuming I would use it sometime in the future) plus a spare colourful ball just to practise when I got home.

So I took my needles and ominously stacked 16 balls of wool to the counter. I picked the sales persons brain about my wool selection (but it was clear she had no idea about the appropriate wool for a scarf). Then I trundled home on the train with my huge bag of wool and much excitement.

After a quick dinner I got out the needles and cast on with the practice green. In did some knit, some purl and slipped back into my old speed quite quickly. I was happy that my tension was also quite consistent. I then practised increasing and decreasing stitches. That went well too.

The only holes in my test patch occurred when The Hubby decided to have a go. How much damage can a person do after knitting three stitches? A lot, apparently. I showed him how to do the basic knit and after holding the needles as if it was the first time he held a rudimentary tool he tried on his own. Bless him, he tried so hard but it clearly wasn’t his forte (even though he claimed his Mum had taught him and his brothers how to knit when they were kids). After three stitches he gave up and went back to playing soccer on his phone – I sighed a breath of relief.

So now I am confident that I can begin this scarf. I have read the entire pattern and the associated comments to get extra tips, watched the video and even mapped out the pattern myself just to make sure I had it squared away.

All that is left now is to try out the knot on my practice wool and then I am good to go.

I will keep you posted and hopefully I get a scarf which looks as great as Kyoko’s!

P.S. If any of my readers cannot knit yet but are inspired watch Kyoko’s How to Knit video

4 thoughts on “The Great Scarf Endeavour – The Knitter Returns

  1. Pingback: Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf | The Modern Home Economist

  2. Pingback: Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf – Update 1 | The Modern Home Economist

Please leave your comments...

