Project Baby Knits: Part 2

Over the last few weeks I have spent much time crafting my first handmade baby attire and toy ensemble which I set out to make a couple of weeks ago. I planned on making a hat, booties and toy puppy for the expected bub in a white and neutral tones (Mumsy-to-be’s favourite colours).

Baby Wool - Soft and White

I finished the items about a week ago but the baby decided it was too comfy and was not born on the due date. I had everything lined up and ready to go, all I wanted to do was add some buttons (blue or pink) once I knew the baby’s sex to make it more personal. So my items lay waiting for the announcement of the baby’s birth.

Booties

Baby Hat

Puppy

Knitted Attire and Puppy

Buttons ready for the sewing...

Attire ready for the baby-boy or baby-girl buttons

Funnily enough while I was knitting the present, my mum got the knitting bug again. She was the one who taught me how to knit but has not done so in years. She was so excited to pick up the needles again that she eagerly chose to make a sweater for the baby to match my hat and booties. She whipped it up in a weekend (like a pro) and then passed it onto me for sewing and finishing (she hates that side of things). It is just so cute!

Sweater Front

Sweater Back

Finally I got the news yesterday that the family had been blessed with a new baby boy. So the first thing I did when I got home last night was sew on the blue buttons, to give a little boy touch to the present. I also attached the buttons onto the back of the sweater and had to make the buttonholes. They were a little tricky but I was so pleased with how they turned out given they were the first buttonholes I have knitted! Thanks again to the great video resources on the web.

Baby Attire

Baby Attire and Toy

Overall I was so proud to have made up all these little goods. The sweater is so adorable, but I give a lot of credit to my mum for that. The hat was so simple and turned out so snuggly. The booties were a little tricky and I had to try out a few different patterns but I got there is the end. The ones I made were so simple to knit and put together (I will be posting a free pattern soon). But my favourite item was the puppy. I loved making this little guy and I think he turned out really well. The pattern was so easy to follow (easier than booties, who would have thought) and really fun to stitch together.

All my family and friends really loved the items I made and I think I have passed on the knitting bug to The Hubby’s mum and aunty as well as some of my own friends! I was truly happy when one of my male friends (who let’s be honest could care less about knitting) was genuinely shocked to find out that I had made the puppy and honestly thought it was very cool! I have now received many requests for hats and toys – looks like I won’t be putting the needles away for a while – yay!

Waiting for Wrapping - Homemade with Love

I hope the family likes the present – it is sitting on my colleague’s desk waiting for him. I was so excited wrapping it all up last night and even thought of a cool trick of using wool as a ribbon and adding some buttons for decoration. Ordinarily I would have loved to have visited the baby, but still being sick I don’t want to take any risks. I am looking forward to seeing the little baby boy in the outfit and with his new toy when he pays our office a visit soon.

Present - Wrapped and Ready to Go

Now back to my scarf

18 thoughts on “Project Baby Knits: Part 2

  1. I love the baby knitted set. The sweater, hat, and booties are awesome but I love the doggie the best. I love toys and that doggie will be so loved. You did a great job on that gift.

  2. Love the puppy! But you should be proud of everythign else too, I’m sure they’ll be much appreciated. Where’s the puppy pattern from?

    • What a beautiful little baby set! The buttons you chose are the perfect finishing touch. That little puppy is too cute & I love how he even has his own bone 🙂 It sure looks like your mom never stopped knitting!

      • Yes the bone is quite sweet. Thats what I love about her patterns – all the extra details. She is a great knitter – I am always impressed with how quick she is even though she doesn’t use the Continental Method.

    • Yes I was very happy with how everything turned out. Thank you for your kind words. I spoke to the parents last night and they were thrilled and very touched by the gift. The puppt pattern is a Jean Greenhowe design: http://www.jeangreenhowe.com/. It is from her book Knitted Animals. I think you can find copies floating around on ebay or at your local knitting store. If you like the idea of making knitted animals I cannot recommend her patterns enough.

  3. Pingback: Diagonal Knot Stitch Scarf | The Modern Home Economist

  4. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make
    this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  5. I was trying to get the baby sweater and hat pattern and puppy but wasn’t able to find it.. Could you please email the patterns thank you!!

Please leave your comments...

