Mushroom, Capsicum, Olive and Cheese Pinwheels

When planning my menu for an Afternoon Tea Party I thought pinwheels would be an excellent choice for a savoury dish. I had never even heard of these until I read a post on Edible Substance and immediately thought they looked delicious – the world of blogging has opened my mind to so many amazing resources and recipes, thank you Word Press!

These pinwheels are so easy to make and so delicious. They are now on my list of “go-to recipes” when entertaining at home or required to take a dish to a gathering. I think I may even use them for lunches or snacks during the week. They are very fast to whip up (time really being dependant on the filling), look a bit special (with the rolls of pastry) and the possibilities you can try for the fillings are endless (savoury or sweet).

Mushroom, Capsicum, Olive and Cheese Pinwheels

The ones I made for my Afternoon Tea Party were a huge hit – no one could have just one! They ended up being my favourite savoury item on the menu. The filling I used almost ended up turning the pinwheels into mini-vegetarian pizza rolls and were just delicious.

Funnily enough when the ladies left the party and The Hubby and his friends came home from the Grand Prix there was one pinwheel left. Hungry from a long day of watching cars (and endless noise) they all eyed it. I felt so bad that I had not even thought about serving them anything other than some snack foods I keep in my pantry for such emergencies. So easy are these to make I decided to make a fresh set for the boys. Quickly I cooked up the filling, used my left over pastry sheets and within half an hour had a fresh batch of pinwheels piping hot from the oven and oozing cheese. They went fast and received much praise, yay!

So try them out at your next function or family gathering. My experience is that people will love them. A batch of these will also serve as a great snack for yourself and the family. I think I will be trying sweet ones next for dessert…

Mushroom, Capsicum, Olive and Cheese Pinwheels

Makes 6 pinwheels (1 roll pastry)

Ingredients

  • ½ tablespoon olive oil
  • ¼ brown onion, diced
  • ¼ green capsicum, diced
  • 5 button mushroom, thinly sliced
  • 1 sheet store-bought puff-pastry (approx. 25cm x 25cm), thawed
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • ¼ cup of Parmesan cheese
  • ¼ cup of shredded cheddar cheese
  • ¼ cup of kalamata olives, sliced in half
  • ½ tablespoon dried herbs
  • ½ egg, beaten

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350F or 1800C and line a baking tray with paper
  2. Heat the oil and brown the onion
  3. Add the mushrooms and capsicum and cook until mushrooms are brown and capsicum has softened
  4. Lay the sheet of puff pastry onto a bench
  5. Spread tomato paste evenly over the pasty leaving a ½” or 2cm border around the edges
  6. Spread the cooked onion, mushroom and capsicum filling evenly onto the pastry and tomato paste
  7. Place the
  8. Sprinkle the two cheese evenly onto the pastry and filling
  9. Sprinkle the herbs over the cheese
  10. Brush the beaten egg around all 4 edges of the pastry
  11. Roll the pastry up and place onto baking tray
  12. Brush the top of the roll with beaten egg
  13. Cut the pasty into slices of desired width (mine were about 1” / 3cm)
  14. Shuffle the slices about so there is a gap between them
  15. Cook in oven for 20 minutes or until they are golden brown
  16. Leave to cool or a cooling rack or serve hot from the oven

    Laying the Filling

    The Pinwheels - ready for baking

Notes

  • I think I overfilled my pinwheels a little but I liked seeing the cheese and olives spilling out of the wheel. If you want them to look neater, do not put as much filling as me
  • Store these in an airtight container when cool
  • The recipe above is for 1 roll of pasty which yields about 6 pinwheels. Just multiply the recipe given your desired number of wheels. I initially doubled the recipe for the tea party and then made double the recipe again for the boys.

    The Pinwheels - the filling overflowing

Alternatives

  • The possibilities are endless but after a bit of research the most popular combinations seemed to be:
  • Savoury: cheese and onion, Vegemite and cheese, mincemeat, pesto and cheese, blue cheese and walnut, feta and spinach
  • Sweet: dried fruit and nuts, jam, Nutella, honey and cinnamon, stewed apples, chocolate chips

Has anyone made pinwheels before? What are some of your favourite fillings? I have not tried a sweet one yet, are they just as good?

5 thoughts on “Mushroom, Capsicum, Olive and Cheese Pinwheels

  1. Pingback: Hosting an Afternoon Tea Party | The Modern Home Economist

  2. Pingback: A Vintage Tea Party | Test Soubrette Vintage

  3. Pingback: A Vintage Tea Party | Soubrette Vintage | Vintage Clothing Shop | Vintage Fashion Blog

Please leave your comments...

