Zucchini, Cheese and Chive Scones

I love scones. They are so yummy and doughy. A definite menu item for an Afternoon Tea Party! I battled with making savoury scones or classic scones to serve with jam. In the end I decided to make savoury scones because I thought there was enough sweet food and most people cannot eat too much sweet food all at once.

Zucchini, Cheese and Chive Scones


I really liked making these. I have a particular fondness for working with dough, so kneading and rolling the mixture was very therapeutic for me. I also loved watching them rise in the oven into little mounds.

Scones rising during the baking process

Perfectly Risen Scones

These scones were really tasty and cheesy. I would definitely make them again for a party where scones are an appropriate menu item. I am so keen to make traditional ones on a Sunday morning and enjoy them, warm, for breakfast with lots of butter and jam.

What are your favourite scone recipes, fillings or accompaniments? Do you have any favourite cooking techniques which you find therapeutic?

Zucchini, Cheese and Chive Scones

Makes 15 scones

Ingredients

  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • ¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 30g chilled unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1 small zucchini, grated
  • 1 spring onion stalk, finely chopped
  • 3 sprigs chives, finely chopped
  • 1 cup grated tasty cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ⅓ cup milk, plus extra to brush

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F / 180°C and line a baking tray with paper
  2. Sift the flour into a large bowl
  3. Add the cayenne pepper
  4. Rub in the butter with fingertips until it resembles fine breadcrumbs
  5. Mix in the zucchini, spring onions, chives, cheese and salt and pepper
  6. Mix in the milk
  7. Place the mixture onto a well-floured bench and roll the dough until it is about 3 cm thick
  8. Using a circular cutter of about 5-7cm in diameter cut circles into the dough
  9. Place each dough circle onto the baking tray and brush with milk
  10. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden
  11. Leave to cool on a wire rack or serve warm

    Scones Ready for Baking

    Scones Fresh from the Oven

Notes

  • when placing the dough onto the bench it would be good to also flour your hands as the dough is quite sticky
  • these scones can be re-heated before serving in the oven
  • these are best served with butter or another form of dipping sauce. See below for recipe.

Alternatives

  • There are endless combinations of scones. Some of the best are:
  • savoury: cheese, potato and corn, mushroom and olive, cheddar and chives, smoked salmon
  • sweet: plain served with jam and cream, dried fruit, stewed apple, cinnamon, fresh berries

Sour Cream Dill Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • ¾ cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons spring onion, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons dill, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Method

  • In a medium bowl combine sour cream, mayonnaise, spring onions, dill and lemon juice
  • Mix well and chill for at least 1 hour
12 thoughts on “Zucchini, Cheese and Chive Scones

  1. oooh, delish. I’ve only ever tried making savoury scones once and is was all kinds of wrong. They were pumpkin & could have doubled as missiles. These look light & fluffy & inspire me to re-enter the world of the savoury scone.

    • You should give it a go. I made these at 10.30 at night having destroyed the kitchen by initially making cupcakes, a cake and cookies on the same night. And these still ended up tasty. They are really easy so I doubt you will have any problems. Let me know how you go.

  2. Pingback: Hosting an Afternoon Tea Party | The Modern Home Economist

  3. Yum. I shouldn’t read your blog when I’m already feeling hungry. Now I’m hungry and drooling for these scones! Thank you for sharing your recipe. I’ve not had the best luck with scones, but I’ll have to try these out!

    • I must same I am secretly thrilled that my people are finding my posts so appetising. I often get so hungry when viewing other people’s blogs so its great that I am having the same effect…
      Try them out. They are easy and I whipped them up late at night after baking all evening and I was so tired.
      A yummy scone, an audio book and some knitting sounds perfect for the weekend…

Please leave your comments...

