Classic Apple Crumble

It was the Hubby’s birthday last week and I wanted to make him something special. For so many recent family occasions I had tried new and interesting recipes but never really asked if he felt like anything.

So for his birthday I told him I would whip up any dessert he wanted to serve as his birthday cake. I was ready for him to pick something exotic; to test my skills and make him something extravagant.

Alas, he asked me for apple crumble. Good old apple crumble. Not new, challenging or exciting but tasty nonetheless and a real classic in my family.

The Hubby has always loved his apples. He will eat anything with apples or apple flavored (his most recent addiction being apple licorice from Darrell Lea – which he force feeds any visitor)

I thought he may ask for apple pie. I would have loved to try that as I have never made apple pie before and wanted to test out a crust.

But apple crumble is one of his most favorite desserts and he really did feel like it. So I happily made it for him (I have made it for him before) and I am sure it will be made many times by my hands in the future.

He and a few friends did enjoy eating it hot from the oven after The Hubby blew out his candles. I managed to find the ones that you cannot blow out (as they continue to re-light themselves) which provided some good chuckles for us all…

I thought I would share it with you all because it is a really simple, classic and delicious dessert.

This particular recipe was a new method I tried. I cannot say it was amazing. It certainly was tasty as always, but by no means the perfect apple crumble. I thought the apples were too heavily stewed and that perhaps the crumble was too thick and rich.

Given The Hubby’s love for it – I vow to some create the greatest apple crumble recipe.

Please share with me if you have your own tried and tested classic winner or if you even have any tips for my own recipe.

Classic Apple Crumble

Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 7 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and evenly      cubed
  • ¼ cup caster sugar
  • 1tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup plain flour, sifted
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ¾ cup rolled oats
  • ¾ cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 100g cup butter, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence

Apples Chopped

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 1800C / 350F
  2. Place apples in large saucepan and cover with water.
  3. Simmer (not boil) covered with lid on med-high until apples are just tender but not too soft, about 5 minutes

    Cooking Apples

  4. Drain apples well and place in large bowl
  5. Combine caster sugar and cinnamon
  6. Toss sugar and cinnamon through the apples

    Stewed Apples - the aroma was delicious!

  7. Place apples into the bottom of a medium sized baking dish

  1. In a separate bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, rolled oats, coconut, cinnamon and nutmeg in a large bowl until evenly mixed through.
  2. Add vanilla essence to butter and pour onto dry ingredients
  3. Mix until well combined and mixture has a crumbly texture

  4. Spread crumble mix over top of apples in baking dish
  5. Bake for 30minutes or until crumble topping is slightly browned
  6. Serve warm and accompanied with vanilla ice-cream, custard or cream

    Hot from the oven - the smell was amazing...

    Perfectly crunchy

31 thoughts on “Classic Apple Crumble

  1. This sounds lovely. I love how you’ve used oats and desiccated coconut in the crumble topping to take a classic and make into something even more delicious. Thanks for sharing the great recipe

  2. If you want less stewed apples, it is possible to chop them straight into the dish, top with sugar and cover with crumble and allow them to stew in the oven as the crumble browns. It works especially well with bramleys. Your topping sounds interesting, with the coconut etc. might give it a try. We are having a Cherry Bakewell Fairy cake session here this morning. Mr Kipling eat your heart out!!

  3. Oh yummmm! It looks deeeeeelish! I am soooo wanted to make an apple pie, no, better yet, I want to make a raspberry pie!!!!! No, maybe strawberry rhubarb…… sigh……..

  4. Mmmmmm! I feel the same way about apples as your Hubby. When I was down in New Orleans, there was nothing like a good Canadian apple. Now that I’m home, I can’t get enough! I’m trying all the yummy new varieties! When you are ready for an apple pie, let me know! I’ve got a fail-safe pastry recipe that I’ve used for ever!

  5. I don’t know if you can get Arkansas Black apples where you are, but they are my favorite pie apple. I live in northern California and they’re grown in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountain range. They have a short season – maybe November-January. They are harder than the Granny Smiths and have a dark blackish-red skin. I prefer them to baking than eating raw. An amazing thing about these apples is if you leave the skin on (I always do – more fiber, apples retain shape etc.), the color from the skin “bleeds” into the apple pieces. It’s gorgeous as well as tasty.

  6. This looks really yummy! It reminds me of the apple crisp my mother made for our family when I was a kid. There’s something comforting about those old classic recipes 🙂

Please leave your comments...

